Account Login

Upcoming Meeting

Friday, October 20, 2017

at the Hynes Convention Center, 900 Boylston Street, Boston

Parking information


Due to the many meetings taking place, there will not be a Grand Rounds sessions in October.  They will resume with the December 1 meeting and information will be send.

Register / Submit a Proposal 

Message from the President


       Welcome to one and all to the 766th meeting of the New England Ophthalmological Society. We have an exciting agenda for everyone this meeting.  Please note that during the meeting you will have presentations that will be using the latest in multimedia techniques which including audience participation with both questions and the ARS (audience response system).  As always we will have the exhibitors at your disposal for both information and questions.  NEOS has actually been a leader in the development of addressing different learning styles and incorporating those individual differences into its programs.  During the year we will be bringing you both the Grand Rounds, chaired by Dr. Jeffrey Heier, and the Hal Freeman, MD Video Lecture Series of previous NEOS meetings.  Both are intended to reach out to the membership in different ways.  Your Board is hopeful that you will continue to find both these programs beneficial and enjoyable. 


      We are starting off the new NEOS year with our combined meeting of both our membership and the Technician/Administrators’ meeting. Grand Rounds will not be offered at this session secondary to and the combined meeting, both should be informative and transformative for ophthalmic practices.  Enjoy and have a great time in Boston


John J. Dagianis, MD



Arlene Drack, MD

Dr. Arlene Drack, M.D. graduated from the University of Scranton in Pennsylvania with a B.S. in Biology and Philosophy. Following a year as an ITT international fellow in Immunology at the University of Oslo, Norway, she attended Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine.  Dr. Drack completed her ophthalmology residency at Georgetown University Medical Center and three fellowships: Ophthalmic Genetics at the Wilmer Institute at Johns Hopkins University; Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus at the University of Iowa; and Molecular Ophthalmic Genetics at the University of Iowa. Dr. Drack held leadership positions at Emory University School of Medicine and the University of Colorado before returning to Iowa City, where she currently is the Ronald V. Keech Associate Professor in Pediatric Genetic Eye Disease Research at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.  As the Director of both the Pediatric and rodent Electroretinogram Services, she maintains a busy clinical practice and research career. 

Dr. Drack is well-respected by her colleagues and has been selected the inaugural Chair of the Genetic Eye Disease Task Force of the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS).  Her professional affiliations include the American Medical Association, Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology, AAPOS, and the International Society for Genetic Eye Disease. She has been named “Best Doctors in America” annually since 1996, and has received Senior Achievement Awards from AAPOS and AAO.  She was awarded tenure at the University of Iowa in 2015, where she has been integral to the professional development of dozens of research students and residents through her teaching and mentoring roles.  She received the Outstanding Translational Research Mentor Award in 2016.

A superb researcher and prolific writer, Dr. Drack has 80 journal publications and over 20 book chapters to her credit.  She has written on a wide variety of ophthalmology subjects including pediatric retinal disorders, gene-therapy, genetic mapping of pediatric eye diseases, and congenital and juvenile cataracts. Dr. Drack is an internationally known expert in the diagnosis and treatment of inherited eye diseases.  She is actively involved in clinical trials for PEDIG (Pediatric Eye Disease Investigator Group) and Phase III Subretinal gene replacement treatment in RPE65 LCA.  Her research has been rewarded with grant support from many entities over the years, and she is currently a co-principle investigator in studies funded by industry, a WIVR Advisory Board Grant, and the NIH.  She is on the Editorial Board of the Journal of AAPOS and reviews manuscripts for many major ophthalmology and genetics journals as well as the New England Journal of Medicine.  She lectures at conferences and meetings around the United States and the world, most recently at the Canadian Ophthalmologic Society.  NEOS will be her 148th lecture or presentation since 1990. 

When not working, Dr. Drack enjoys kayaking, hiking with her family, and participating in a women’s book club.  She is married to computer software developer, Bill Emerson, and has 2 daughters, a crazy cat, and a genotyped dog.


  Rosa Braga-Mele, MEd, MD, FRCSC

Rosa Braga-Mele MD is a Professor of Ophthalmology, Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto, Canada.  She graduated Magna Cum Laude from University of Ottawa Medical School. She then completed her residency at the University of Toronto. She went on to complete her Masters Degree in Higher Education with areas of specialty in curriculum development and patient-physician communication skills.

 Dr. Braga-Mele is a cataract specialist and educator who speaks frequently at both the national and international level on advanced surgical techniques and innovations in the area of phacoemulsification surgery and complicated cataract cases and IOL development. She was voted by her peers as one of the top 50 opinion leaders in cataract and refractive surgery. She has over 150 published abstracts and papers. She has also been involved in clinical trials pertaining to wavefront IOL’s and multifocal IOL’s and phacoemulsification surgery.

 Dr. Braga-Mele serves as the Chair of the Education Clinical Committee (2015-present) for the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) and is a member of the Governing Board and Program Committee for ASCRS. She was Chair of the Cataract Clinical Committee for ASCRS from 2011-2015. She was an active member of the AAO Special Programs Committee from 2007-2011, and in 2015-2016 was part of the AAO Cataract Preferred Practice Patterns committee. She was also the chairperson for the cataract section of the Canadian Ophthalmology Society (COS) meeting for 2004, 2005 and 2006.

She is Cataract Section Editor for EyeWorld (an ASCRS publication) and is on the editorial board of other ophthalmic publications.

She was the inaugural Research Director at the Kensington Eye Institute in Toronto from 2007-2012. She was appointed Cataract Director at the Kensington Eye Institute in May 2013-present.

She is involved in the resident surgical teaching curriculum development and implementation at the University of Toronto. She has won multiple teaching awards both at the undergraduate and resident levels for her teaching and mentorship abilities including the Silver Needle award in 2003, 2007, 2012, 2016 and 2017 for best resident surgical teacher, and the University of Toronto, Faculty of Medicine, Community-Based Teaching Award in 2016. She was given the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) Achievement Award in 2007 for distinguished volunteer service and the AAO Secretariat Award in 2012 for special contributions to the Academy and ophthalmology out of proportion to others and making a difference in her efforts. She has recently been awarded the AAO Senior Achievement Award in 2013 for volunteer services.

Privacy Policy

New England Ophthalmological Society
Executive Director: Michael J. Bradbury, MD
Executive Assistant: Judy Cerone Keenan
Phone: 617-227-6484 | Fax: 617-367-4908


PO Box 9165
50 Staniford St., 7th floor
Boston MA 02114
Conference Management Software by X-CD Technologies Inc.